площадь Largo do Pelourinho

Funchal (Фуншал)- площадь Largo do Pelourinho

The small square Largo do Pelourinho, now ‘sunk’ between the mouths of the rivers Joao Gomes and Santa Luzia, was once the centre of the town. It was also here, where Funchal’s first customhouse and first commercial trading stations used to be.

This square was formed at the beginning of the main road Rua Direita (straight street), a name, which was traditionally given to this kind of streets in medieval Portuguese towns, even if it was far from being ‘straight’. In 1486 the Duke Dom Manuel sent a pillory (‘pelourinho’) to the island, and the location, where it was to be installed, was this square to which it also gave its name.

В том месте у слияния двух ручьев Joao Gomes and Santa Luzia появилась первая крепость города. К настоящему времени дошли только остатки фундамента.

This area has undergone extensive remodeling due to the disaster of 20th of February. Because of the damage, the Praca da Autonomia, which was adjoined to Largo do Pelourinho, was completely remodeled. During the works, were discovered ruins of the Fort of San Filipe, that were preserved at the time of the finding and today they remain in the open air. https://www.madeira-web.com/en/places/funchal/visit/se/pelourinho-direita.html


Funchal (Фуншал)- площадь Largo do Pelourinho
Funchal (Фуншал)- площадь Largo do Pelourinho
Funchal (Фуншал)- площадь Largo do Pelourinho
Путешествие по Мадейре
Главная
Подмосковье    Походы выходного дня