Церковь Святого Иоанна Евангелиста (Igreja de Sao Joao Evangelista) или Колледж иезуитов (Colegio dos Jesuitas) принадлежит монашескому ордену. Католический храм, основанный в 1629 году, построен в переходном стиле от маньеризма к барокко. Внутри однонефного здания – арочные своды, позолоченная резьба, керамические панели XII века. Главный алтарь установлен в капелле Onze Mil Virgens (Одиннадцати тысяч дев-праведниц).
Constructed in the 17th century by the Society of Jesus, the church marked the transition from the Mannerist style to the Baroque, marked by great, ostentatious decorations.
It constituted the largest structure built in the city until the 19th century.
In 2008 a large organ was installed in the church, the work of the organ player Dinarte Machado, inaugurated by Ton Koopman.
The church belongs to the old Jesuit College and is presently occupied by the University of Madeira and the Catholic University. Characteristics Exemplifying religious architecture, it has a Latin cross plan, with a single nave and well-known chancel, profusely decorated with gilded wood, valuable 17th and 18th century altarpieces, and blue and white tile panels from the 17th century that line the walls of the sacristy. Noteworthy is the altar of the chapel of the Eleven Thousand Virgins.