San Bernardino alle Ossa is a church in Milan, northern Italy, best known for its ossuary, a small side chapel decorated with numerous human skulls and bones.
In 1210, when an adjacent cemetery ran out of space, a room was built to hold bones. A church was attached in 1269. Renovated in 1679, it was destroyed by a fire in 1712. A new bigger church was then attached to the older one and dedicated to Saint Bernardino of Siena.
The church's origins date to 1145, when a hospital and a cemetery were built in front of the basilica of Santo Stefano Maggiore. In 1210 a chamber was built to house bones from the cemetery, next to which a church was built in 1269. It was restored for the first time in 1679 by Giovanni Andrea Biffi, who modified the facade and decorated the walls of the ossuary with human skulls and tibiae.
The church was destroyed in 1712; it was replaced by a new edifice designed by Carlo Giuseppe Merlo, featuring a central plan and larger size reflecting the increasing popularity of the ossuary. The new church, connected to the former one by an ambulatory, was dedicated to St. Bernardino of Siena.
The facade was completed in 1776.
The interior has an octagonal plan, with Baroque-style decorations. The several chapels have paintings from the 16th-18th centuries.
The ossuary's vault was frescoed in 1695 by Sebastiano Ricci with a Triumph of Souls and Flying Angels, while in the pendentives are portrayed the Holy Virgin, St. Ambrose, St. Sebastian and St. Bernardino of Siena. Niches and doors are decorated with bones, in Roccoco style.
In 1738 King John V of Portugal was so struck by the chapel, that had a very similar one built at Evora, near Lisbon. Gallery.
The ossuary's vault was frescoed in 1695 by Sebastiano Ricci with a Triumph of Souls and Flying Angels, while in the pendentives are portrayed the Holy Virgin, St. Ambrose, St. Sebastian and St. Bernardino of Siena. Niches and doors are decorated with bones, in Roccoco style.In 1738 King John V of Portugal was so struck by the chapel, that had a very similar one built at Evora, near Lisbon.
Церковь San Bernardino alle Ossa известна своей костницей. Изначальное здание было построено в 1210 году. В 1750 году культовое сооружение было расширено архитектором Carlo Giuseppe Merlo(1690-1760).
Carlo Giuseppe Merlo (5 November 1690 – 13 February 1760) was an Italian architect of the late-Baroque period; born in Milan, Italy. He was a pupil of Francesco Bianchi, and from 1708 to 1716 trained in the College of Engineers and Architects in Milan. In 1716, he designed the Oratory for the church of San Bernardino, Milan (completed 1749). In 1731, he designed the main altar for the Sanctuary of the ‘’Beata Vergine di Caravaggio’’. In 1740, he designed the Oratory of the Immacolata in ponte Vecchio di Magenta. Like most architects of Milan, he contributed to the continuing work for the Duomo. In 1738, he designed and directed the construction of the entryway stairs for Palazzo Litta in Milan.
He helped rebuild the parochial church of San Giuliana in Caponago. In 1739, he helped designs for a project in the Monastery of the Visitazione in Milan. He helped design the facade for the parochial church of Sant'Andrea Apostolo of Pioltello. In conjunction with Giulio Galliori he designed the ephemeral decorative car used to translate the body of San Carlo Borromeo. Again with Galliori he designed the cupola of the sanctuary of the Beata Vergine of Rho. He helped raise the belltower for the parochial church of Olginate. He also helped design a house for the poor and jail
Veneranda Fabbrica del Duomo di Milano - это фабрика Миланского собора. С 1387 года, года его основания, он участвует в его строительстве, поиске средств и управлении.
Он занимается консервацией и реставрацией собора, деятельностью по сохранению, служением литургической деятельности, улучшением и продвижением памятника, обеспечивая приобретение ресурсов, необходимых для его содержания. Управление возложено на совет директоров, состоящий из семи членов, срок полномочий которых составляет три года, двое из которых назначаются епархиальным ординарником, а пять - министерством внутренних дел после консультации с архиепископом. С 18 июля 2017 года президентом стал Феделе Конфалоньери, который 20.11.2020 был подтвержден президентом на следующие три года. Деятельность разделена на множество секторов, таких как добыча мрамора, управление строительными площадками, управление, координация и передача культурных ценностей (Большой собор-музей, архив-библиотека и Музыкальная капелла)