Южнее храма Santa Maria Steccata расположен дворец губернатора, выходящий на площадь Giuseppe Garibaldi. Первоначальное строение появилось в 13ом столетии, а к существующему виду было приведено в 1769 году архитектором Ennemond Alexandre Petitot (1827-1801).
Ennemond Alexandre Petitot (1727-1801) was a French-born architect, mainly active in the Duchy of Parma. Biography
He was born in Lyon in 1727, and by 1741, he had joined the studio of the architect Jacques Soufflot. From there he moved to study at the Academie d'Architecture in Paris. From there he moved under a grant to study architecture in Rome, and was there recruited by the prime minister Guillaume du Tillot to become the architect of the recently installed Bourbon Dukes in Parma.
His projects envisioning updating the Duchy along the lines of the Neoclassical style regnant in France. Many of his ambitious projects have either been reduced, razed, or remained unfinished. He also published series of engravings on various designs for architectural decoration. Among his architectural projects in the Duchy of Parma.
Venaria (Ducal hunting lodge) at Colorno (1753)
Apartments (1755) and staircase for Ducal Palace of Colorno
Sculptural Vases for Ducal Garden in Parma (1754), collaboration with the French sculptor Jean Baptiste Boudard (1710-1768) similar to those found in gardens at Palace of Versailles
Loggia at theater at Ducal Palace of Parma with Boudard (1760)
Facade of the church of San Pietro (1761-1762)
Plans for boulevard-promenade (1763) along what is now Stradone Martiri della Liberta (at the time, he name had changed from the Stradone Farnese to Stradone Borbone); it was to be marked at the ends by two architectural units:At the Western end, ant the intersection with Strada Firini, a Colonna Borbone (Bourbon column), a 90-foot monumental free-standing doric column topped by Bourbon coat of arms
Ara Amicitiae monument (1769, since destroyed
Designs for Biblioteca Palatina (1766), completed by Drugman
Temple of Arcadia in the Gardens of Colorno (1769)
With the fall of minister du Tillot, and later the dislocations occurring Northern Italy after the French Revolution, the influence and scope of commissions for Petitot waned. He kept a teaching appointment at the Academy of Fine Arts of Parma.
Башня с часами в стиле барокко появилась в 1763 г.
Located on the northern side of Piazza Garibaldi, the palace used to be the seat of the Capitano del Popolo and combines two buildings dating to 13th century.
After undergoing several transformations, it was redesigned in 1760 by Ennemond Alexandre Petitot, a French architect working at the court of Philip of Bourbon. The baroque tower built in 1763 preserves in the belfry the original bell of the civic tower, collapsed in 1606, while a crowned Virgo situated in the bell tower niche was made by the French sculptor J. B. Boudard. Worth of notice, two sundials on the facade dating back to 1829.
The baroque tower built in 1763 preserves in the belfry the original bell of the civic tower, collapsed in 1606, while a crowned Virgo situated in the bell tower niche was made by the French sculptor J. B. Boudard.
Piazza Garibaldi was designed since Medieval times to be the location of political power.
Buildings around the square include the Town hall and the Governor's palace. Nowadays the square is one of the busiest spots in town, a meeting place home to bars and elegant shops.